JD
  • JD
  • pre67vw Junkie Topic Starter
14 years ago
Good info for this conversion, recieved from "Burly" from thesamba.

DOG HOUSE 36hp CONVERSION

Converting a 36hp engine to a dog house oil cooler for improved engine life is easily accomplished. I am not a mechanic, more of a parts changer, but I performed this upgrade along with others to bring my 36hp into the 21st century. Here are the steps I followed and the parts the conversion required:

a. Remove the 6mm vertical stud holding the original oil cooler. I installed a 6-8mm oil strainer repair stud in its place (or you could drill & tap the hole and install a full length 8mm stud).

b. Drill the remaining two oil cooler mounting holes in the flange above the #3 & 4 cylinders to 8mm.

c. Install the offset cooler adapter using 2 of the 8-10mm green oil cooler conversion seals between the case and adapter with the 8mm diameter hole of the seal facing the case.

d. Install the oil cooler to the adapter using the 2 red silicone oil cooler seals and then, if available, install the small deflector tins and foam oil cooler to shroud seal on the cooler.

e. Using the original 36hp cooling fan as a guide, drill matching cooling holes in the new dog house style cooling fan, rebalance if needed and then install onto the generator (the wide fan is required for proper cooling inside the wider dog house fan shroud and the holes are required for cooling the generator !).

f. Using the original fan shroud as a guide, drill front and back holes for the throttle guide tube and then drill holes for mounting the coil bracket ( If available, install nutserts for mounting the bracket !)

g. Reassemble the fan shroud and install following normal procedures after replacing the firewall tin with the slotted dog house style. Install the dog house ducts onto the fan shroud.

Required parts (using VW and EMPI part numbers):

Oil Cooler (71-79 style)………….113-117-021

Adapter…………………………....113-117-303