Kerbkrawler95
11 years ago
Hi, I would like some questions answered about self-spraying a beetle at home...
1) what compressor will I need? - I've been told at least 3hp and 50 litres? - I would also need one that could be used off a normal wall socket!
2) what spray gun?
3) should I use cellulose not 2k? - yes I know the dangers of 2k.
4) what primer(s) will I need
5) is there any other equipment ill need apart from mask, overalls etc.
6) if the shell is already in red oxide (not sure how old) should I sand it off or could I spray over it?

How much would it cost me to paint it my self? - I'm not asking for a show quality paint job, just not a bad one.
I also better mention that I've never used a spray gun before so ill need to know the process, when to amply primer, which primer, colour sanding, filler etc.

Thanks.
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
pre67vw
11 years ago
Welcome to the forum, you ask a lot of questions...!

1) get the biggest you can afford, the smaller the compressor the shorter the time you can spray in one go. It's possible to spray with a pretty small compressor, but you'll need to do it a panel at a time (not a bad way to start if its a solid colour)
2) There are two types, suction feed and gravity feed - suction feed has paint tin on the bottom and sucks it up, gravity has paint on the top and it naturally flows into the gun, so it depends on 1). If you have a smaller compressor then gravity feed will probably be better.
3) Cellulose. 2k is dangerous stuff so stay away from it unless you can run an air-fed mask and have good extraction fans. Many top show cars have had cellulose paint jobs in the past. It's harder to get hold of these days, but still possible.