Chloe
16 years ago
Hello, this is my first post. Im hopeing i do this right. I have has an ongoing intrest in beetles, and last year bought my first - being a 72. (not all that inteesting i know) but later on in summer, after a couple of months in persuit of this particular beetle i bought a 1967 1500. Im only 19 an im a student - so money to do up "Bertie" is somewhat scarce. The main issue with him is the boot floor - the part that goes over the engine. I have looked up the cost of the raplacement piece - i have inculded a picture - just to make it clear. The thing is it seems like a big bit of car to replace - and also it is just the flat bit over the engine which is rotten (due to a leak in the window) - im just wodnering if any one has any advice on whether i should replce the whole piece - or alternativly i know someone who could make up the flat piece which goes over the engine.

I could do with some general advice as well. How rare are these 1967 1500? Ive been tying to get a rough estimation of what they are worth from looking them up on ebay but i cant even find one for sale on there. I paid £625 for him. But millage wise he's been round the clock once - so done about 104,000 miles.

Would be eally greatfull for any advice information. I hope this summer to get him up and running - was hopeingit would be in time for run to the sun in may - but i think thats dubtfull.

Thanks - Chloe

What parts are exculsive to this model? Does it make them very expensive and hard to come by?

UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
JD
  • JD
  • pre67vw Junkie
16 years ago

The main issue with him is the boot floor - the part that goes over the engine. im just wodnering if any one has any advice on whether i should replce the whole piece - or alternativly i know someone who could make up the flat piece which goes over the engine.

"Chloe " wrote: