sarah dell
15 years ago
Hi, up until today both Semaphores were working now pasender one isn't even attempting to lift, I'm not very good with electrics but from what I can see noting is shorted out and the drivers side is working perfectly?

Any ideas?

Thanks
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
54 Gertie
15 years ago
I suppose the simplest thing it could be would be a wire slipped out but it is a bit hard to diagnose without being there! :?

Really helpful I know! :lol:

Try signaling to that side, get out and try to open it with your fingers (dont jam a screwdriver in there)

It may just be being a bit stubborn and a bit of persuasion may get it moving! :wink: This is however not a solution but it may help with further diagnosis!

William
sarah dell
15 years ago
Tried that but doesn't want to budge and didn't want to force it, Could it be just a bulb? or does that just stop it lighting up?
Rich Oakley
15 years ago
Do you have a voltmeter?
47 Beetle, 56 UK Karmann Cabriolet, 56 UK Beetle, 57 UK Type 2, 59 UK Beetle, 66 UK Fastback.
sarah dell
15 years ago
No but prob gonna need one so can get one?
54 Gertie
15 years ago
The bulb will not effect is movement

It is worth checking the voltage at the battery and comparing that to the voltage at the semaphore but if the other side works perfectly it is probably down to the semaphore itself!
William
sarah dell
15 years ago

It is worth checking the voltage at the battery and comparing that to the voltage at the semaphore but if the other side works perfectly it is probably down to the semaphore itself!

54 Gertie wrote:

Does that mean I need a new one?
54 Gertie
15 years ago

54 Gertie wrote:

Sorry, that wasnt very clear!

If the voltage at the semaphore is considerably less than at the battery terminals that would suggest that there is a bad connection between the semaphore switch and semaphore!

Hope thats clearer! :wink:
William
54 Gertie
15 years ago

Does that mean I need a new one?

sarah dell wrote: