pre67vw
2021-06-30T19:54:29Z
Newbies - welcome to the forum!

Say hello and introduce yourself or just your car, if you’re looking for help, information, motivation, parts - whatever it is, it starts by saying hello 🙂
Rob Amos
Happiness is a stock VW
Sponsor

(Register and log-in to hide thread adverts)
2021-06-30T20:43:40Z
I'm not a newbie.. But hello! 😃

ct
2021-09-08T07:53:35Z
Hello All,

Im not necessarily a newbie ( I first registered about 5 years ago ) but I am just returning to my '65 beetle after having it laid-up for several years after taking it off the road and focusing on building a new garage ( the car's last outing was Lavenham 2016 ). The car needs a full rebuild as the floor and channels are rusted through and I will be starting to pull it apart this autumn.

Can anyone provide tips on the best websites and facebook marketplace link from which to collect parts ? My car is pretty original with most of it suitable for restoration but i know I will be after some interior and engine parts in particular. My car has a D- code 1200 engine which is pretty worn-out. I would like to put together an original pre-D code 1200 with single port heads etc. but perhaps vintage speed style dual carbs and manifolds. Any tips on the best places to source parts would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Craig
pre67vw
2021-09-08T09:21:18Z
Hi Craig,

Best place to source parts all depends on what parts you need, for metalwork pieces there are wolfparts.com, Mika Virtanen (restorationpanels.com) and Hookys also make some superb parts (https://www.hookyspanelshop.com/). Also http://www.autocrafteng.co.uk/  make some good stuff too.