molurus
17 years ago
I'm new to the vw world of the beetle, previously having a golf many years ago.
But i have found a "1967" 1.2 6v on autotrader.co.uk and am going to look at this weekend. the seller say's they have done lot's of work to it over the last 2 years........ie
replaced heater channels and floor pan and all wing's and running board's,
full re-spray back to original lotus white colour,
69k gen miles,
original green log book,
clutch replaced 18 month's ago.
is there anything that i should be looking out for?????
He want's £3,100 for it.
V-Dub, new-be
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
mrsherbie
17 years ago
Welcome and Hi 😃

I know little about 67's but here are my views:

£3k seems about right for the low mileage and the fact its a RHD 67, I would be more than happy to pay that for it had it been original and unwelded with its original wings.

All that said I am a bit fussy! it still looks like a very nice car indeed so here are some of my 'look fors' :

a. Original interior in very good condition.

b. Wings replaced? Where were they bought from? good used or repro? (used originals is best) I would'nt personally want repro wings on a car, or heater channels replaced, but when buying a uk car I think its often some of those unfortunate things that come hand in hand with it.
Heater channels bought from? There are 2 types of repro channels, cheap and expensive! I wouldnt touch the cheap black ones ie. from gsf, but the genuine grey repro channels from Heritage are exceptionally good and I would be happy with those.

c.What is the quality of the welding (heater channels) and paint like overall? Is there any paint on window rubbers etc to show bad masking and lack of care in prep?

d. You need to have a very close look inside all the inner wheel arches and rear corners ( just in front of the rear wheels especially) If the channels have needed replacing then odds are there will be either patches or rot here (because its a Brit! Yay!)