vw.58-beetle
15 years ago
Hello can anybody help i have just bourght a new front window rubber and its realy stiff and very very hard to fit on to the glass i have soacked the rubber in hot water as per instructed by the seller but still having problems geting it on the glass would anybody no how to supple the rubber any tricks or tips would be good

please
thanks
paul
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
vw.58-beetle
15 years ago
Anyone got any ideas at all

please
Judson53
15 years ago
im no expert,having never done it,but maby some silcon grease or somthing similar might help,but as i say i havent tryed it
Boris1966
15 years ago
Hi there,
i too have not fitted rubber to windows but if you rub some "fairy liquid" around the rubber it will make it easier to slide into place?
good luck :)
Leane:d
mrsherbie
15 years ago
Hi, I have done quite a few now, you need to warm up everything really, hot water is not ideal as then you are playing with wet rubber and also potentially trapping water in the groove where it will struggle to escape once fitted.
If you are in the garage, get some heaters on, get it nice and warm in there, this job is made harder than usual doing it in Jan!
Leave it on a radiator for a while, but it will cool quick if the garage is not warm. It is not an outside job at this time of the year. You will only break the glass trying.

1. Get someone to help tap it in. A screen is a 2 person job.

2. Get the right type of cord not string so that
A. you dont cut the rubbers and
B. the cord does'nt break mid job.

3. Use KY jelly, it really is the best for the job! washing up liquid is messy and salty and will do the job but depends how much you care about what goes on under your rubbers after they are fitted.

This recent thread from the Samba is REALLY useful!

samba windscreen fitting link