vwdude
19 years ago
:?: I have a 67 bug and when i turn the key, the engine cranks, but it doesnt start, to run... it doesnt spark after i turn the key...the coil is still good.. any ideas?
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
Patchd
19 years ago
Before trying anything else I suggest checking the battery if you havent already done so.
This has been the case with my car a few times where the starter cranks but nothing else happens.

When was the last time you had the engine running?
vwdude
19 years ago
:?: last time i runned the engine was like a few weeks ago. so will it stil crank if the battery is low?
Patchd
19 years ago
I'm no expert but I think it will.. The experience I've had is that you hear the starter going and can hear and see the engine trying to turn over but it never quite reaches the point that it goes under its own steam.

The voltage on the battery (assuming its a 12v sytem which I believe it definatly will be on a '67) should be like between about 11 and 14 volts to get it started I think.

Have you tried jump starting it from another car? Its quite awkward in a beetle (only because of the postion of the battery) but may work.

Of course I might be totally wrong but its a start (hopefully)..
Good luck
vwdude
19 years ago
😞 i charged the battery . and it didnt start. it was doing the same thing. just turning over. im sure all the connections are in. when i pulled off the center plug off the distributor and tried to start it. there was no spark at all. do u think it can be the chrome distributor cover i put on my generator? because the wire is touching the cover too. im not sure but i think its conducting electricity by the wire also touching the generator cover.
L8765DELUX
19 years ago