Phillmore
16 years ago
Time has come to start preparing my 54 right hand drive Oval to get it back on the road. I will document as much background to buying the car and the work needed at another time, but my first objective is to fit a 30hp engine back in place of the newer 1300 presently fitted.

So... Im a school teacher with an interest in old VW's; once a week I run an activity that allows students to learn about cars and their maintenance.

During the previous summer months I bought a near complete but untested 30hp engine - this will be stripped down, cleaned, checked, refreshened wherever possible and rebuilt ready to be fitted into the Oval later this year.

The first step has involved lifting it into the boot of my car and tomorrow will be the start of the strip down.

Watch this space - photos will be added as we progress.

Phill Thomas.

ps - if you fancy donating any bits to a good cause then I would be delighted!!!
If in doubt - cut it out
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
Bert53
16 years ago
Best of luck Phill, it'll be great to see the photos as the work progresses.

Cheers,
John

PS. Otto was actually built in Nov 1954.
Phillmore
16 years ago
Hi John - Its quite exciting to get the work underway. We had a good afternoon. Four of my students worked very well and seemed to enjoy learning about the mechanisms and fundamentals of a simple four stroke engine. The parts unbolted with ease and we managed to get as far as taking off one cylinder head complete with both cylinder barrels. So far everything looks good; the valve heads do not appear badly worn and the rings are free on the pistons with no signs of scoring to the skirts or the barrels.

Here are some photos.
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage

Next week we will be taking off the other side cylinder head and will start the cleaning.

Does anyone know where I could buy exhaust valves and heater tubes?

Until next week...