crazydaze
13 years ago
I did a quick search but could'nt find a mention of it.

https://www.arunltd.com/arunLtd/awp/viewdetails.asp?id=1104 

I'm sure Mr Oakley will have been all over this one, but I actually decided to stop today and have a good look around it.

Now I'm no Oval expert but I think they must be a bit prone to smoking the wacky backy or crack out in the sticks in these parts.

The car was on the cover of Volksworld in 1992 (can't remember the month but a copy of the mag was on the passenger seat) it has old HVWC stickers in the side window's.

The body work is ok, but has filler in the bonnet and front scuttle under the windscreen with bubbling paint and it looks like it go's further, it also has elephant ear indicators instead of semaphores, although the rear lights look correct. Repro front wings, evidence of filler and rust on front inner wings/heater channel, similar plating and rust on rear heater channel ends and the channel lengths look suspect/need propper prodding with a screw driver too. From the outside the interior looks ok if not a little worn, the radio is missing, the aerial is missing with the holes covered with rubber bungs and the starter button? is missing on the dash.

It would be interesting to know how they got hold of it, it looks like an enthusiasts car that has 'fallen' into their hands, and at that price I think they'll have it a while longer too!

Alex.
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
55Kab
13 years ago
Interesting Alex. It was featured in the April 92 issue and being a 57 it wouldn't have had a starter button from new so perhaps it had an accessory windscreen washer fitted and that hole was used for the button?

I noticed the website now has it for £7995 but even at that I think it's overpriced for what it is.

Rich Oakley
13 years ago