sarah dell
15 years ago
Hi, I am a newbie to this forum, I have a 1960 beetle and I bought it about 10 years ago, I am trying to get the reserve tank to work it seems that the tap is attached to the bottom of the tank with two pipes in the tank one longer than the other (asume this is the reserve tap) and I have in the middle of the car near the gear stick and hand break on drivers side a round metal thing with a sqaure fitment on, is this the device to turn it on as i can't see anything conecting the tap to anything in the car and constantly have the problem of running out of fuel, please can someone help. Thanks in advance.
Sarah
Sponsor
Log-in to remove these ads
harveypj
15 years ago
The only other control fitted next to the hand break/gear lever is that for the heating, a knob located on a short metal tube (on the right side of centre) or drivers side on a right hand drive car. It sounds like that is what you have described.
The fuel reserve is switched to by a short lever (about 3" long) located in the middle towards the top of the front bulkhead (the panel behind the foot pedals.
When in the vertical position set for normal running, turn it 90' clockwise to the horizontal to switch to reserve.

Hope this helps

not a very good photo but the reserve tap should look like this (black lever at the top)  IMG_4178.JPG You have insufficient rights to see the content.
Stock......the new custom
sarah dell
15 years ago
Thanks very much makes a lot more sense now. I don't seem to have a lever and don't think when I had the petrol tank out that there was anything connecting to the tank. I has been re-carpeted....(not by me how i bought it) so will have look behind see if there is anything there. If I don't have a leaver is there anything I can do to get one/fit one?
harveypj
15 years ago
It may be possible that you have had a later fuel tank fitted, you may be able to make use of a sender unit and retro fit a proper fuel gauge to the dash.